Open Championship

GreatHorse | June 11 - 13 2018
Hampden, MA

Entry Fees:  Amateurs: $175.00      Professionals: $300.00

Entries Open:  2/1/2018 10:00:00 AM thru 4/26/2018 5:00:00 PM

EXEMPT ONLY - GreatHorse   
5/9 - Wednesday - Indian Pond Country Club   
5/17 - Thursday - Country Club of Wilbraham   
5/21 - Monday - Kernwood Country Club   
5/23 - Wednesday - Eastward Ho!   
5/24 - Thursday - Nashawtuc Country Club   
5/29 - Tuesday - Pleasant Valley Country Club   

Eligibility: Entries are open to professional golfers and amateur golfers with an active USGA GHIN Handicap Index not exceeding 2.4 (as determined by the April 23, 2020 Handicap Revision), or who have completed their handicap certification.
Entry Procedures: Entries and fully paid entry fees must be received through the Mass Golf Online Entry process by 5:00pm EST on the published entry deadline.
Format: Competition will be in two (2) stages at Stroke Play:

1. Sectional Qualifying - 18 Holes (for all except exempt entrants)
2. Championship Proper - 54 Holes
Field: The Championship Proper field is limited to 150 players (approx; based on qualifying ties).

2020 Exemptions (Upon receipt of the online registration and fee, the players in the following categories are exempt from Sectional Qualifying);
 Close Player Exemptions
Exemption Classes
1. Twenty (20) lowest scorers and ties in the 2017 Massachusetts Open Championship
2. Past Massachusetts Open Champions (Effective in 1993, Champions earn a 10-year exemption; pre-1993 Champions are exempt for life)
3. NEPGA Section Champions 2013 to 2016, and the top five (5) finishers and ties in the 2017 NEPGA Championship
4. Top twenty (20) finishers and ties in the 2017 Skip Wogan point standings
5. 2017 NEPGA Assistants Champion
6. 2017 Berkshire Chapter Champion of the NENY PGA
7. 2017 State Open Champions from the New England States
8. 2017 Cape Cod Open Champion
9. Amateur Champions of the last five (5) years
10. 2017 Amateur Semifinalists
11. 2017 Junior Amateur, Senior Amateur, Mid-Amateur, and Amateur Public Links Champions
12. Top ten (10) finishers and ties in the 2017 Richard D. Haskell Player of the Year standings
13. 2017 Player of the Year, Junior Player of the Year and Senior Player of the Year, if eligible
14. 2018 Open Qualifying Host Professionals (one per site)
Brad Adamonis 
Matt Arvanitis 
Eric Barlow 1; 4 
Chelso Barrett 
Rich Berberian Jr 3; 4 
Colin Brennan 11 
Dillon Brown 11 
Robert Bruso 3; 4 
Robin Byrd 
Mike Calef 
Michael Carbone 
Chris Carter 
John Clare 
Matt Cowgill 10; 12 
Cian Curley 
Steven Dilisio 12 
Matt Doyle 3; 4 
Frank Dully 
Joshua Eure 
Jeff Evanier 
Greg Farland 
John Flaherty 
Peter French 
Liam Friedman 3; 4 
Bobby Gage 
Kyle Gallo 
Kirk Hanefeld 
Evan Harmeling 
Joe Harney 
Jimmy Hazen 
Herbie Herbie 12 
John Hickson 
Josh Hillman 
Burgess Houston 
Chris Houston 
Brendan Hunter 
John Kelly 
Louis Kelly 
Jackson Lang 10; 12 
Nick Maccario 12 
Jeffrey Martin 
Nick Mclaughlin 
Blake Morris 
Matthew Naumec 12 
Rob Oppenheim 
Brian Owens 
Troy Pare 
Matt Parziale 9; 10; 12; 13 
David Pastore 
Ron Philo 3; 4 
Josh Salah 
David Schuster 
Jeffrey Seavey 
Geoffrey Sisk 
Keith Smith 11 
Benjamin Spitz 11 
David Spitz 12 
Thomas Stirling 
Ian Thimble 
Michael Thorbjornsen 
Jason Thresher 1; 2; 7 
Mark Turner 12; 13 
Frank Vana, Jr. 13 
Billy Walthouse 1; 10; 12 
Shawn Warren 1; 3; 4 
Michael Welch 
Pat Wilson 
Matt Zdon 
Schedule: Sectional Qualifying - May 9 - May 29

Round 1 - June 11 (18 Holes)
Round 2 - June 12 (18 Holes)
***The low 50 scorers and ties or anyone within 7 strokes of the leader after 36-holes will continue play on June 13
Round 3 - June 13 (18 Holes)

Championship Proper: Any tie for first place will be decided immediately by a three-hole aggregate play-off. In the event there is still a tie after three holes, a hole-by-hole play-off will determine the champion. There will be no play-off for low amateur honors.
Caddies &
Players may use caddies, pull carts (at the host clubs(s) discretion) and/or automotive transportation during Sectional Qualifying. Caddies and pull carts (at the host clubs(s) discretion) ONLY are permitted in the Championship Proper.
Starting Times: Qualifying Round Starting Times & Player Information will be emailed to all competitors shortly after the close of entries.
Championship Starting Times & Player Information will be emailed to all competitors shortly after the last qualifying round.
Prizes: The Clarence G. Cochrane Memorial Trophy will be presented to the Champion and The Commonwealth Cup will be presented to the Low Amateur. A professional purse of $75,000 will be distributed to the low fifty (50) finishers and ties. Merchandise certificates will also be awarded and are only redeemable at the host site.
Trophy: Clarence G. Cochrane Memorial Trophy (Champion) & The Commonwealth Cup (Low Amateur)
Addt'l Info: Courtesy practice privileges are at the discretion of the host club(s).

Click here to view MassGolf additional Policies & Procedures
Withdrawal/Refund Policy
Competitors, who have submitted an entry for a Mass Golf event and wish to withdraw for any reason, MUST notify the Mass Golf office in writing (e-mail is acceptable and encouraged) or by phone. Entry fee will be refunded less a $20 administrative fee, regardless of reason, if Mass Golf is notified in writing or by phone seven days prior to each event (Championship, or Qualifier). Entry fee will be refunded less 50% for any withdrawals received less than seven days prior to each event. No refund will be processed for a withdrawal notification that is received on the scheduled date of an eventĀ (Championship or Qualifier).

If you have any questions or issues regarding this event, please contact Kevin Eldridge (774-430-9103 or

[ Back to Event Listing ]